What to expect

My plan for this blog, as well as for my life, really, is to systematically gather and present information about giftedness, mainly in adults. I intend to read through a great amount of online information and select the best for this site. In addition to this, I have already purchased several books that I wish to review here. Having at least four of the five overexcitabilities myself, I am overwhelmed by the sheer scale of this undertaking, but I take comfort in knowing that I have already made a good start.

Since i trust my readers to peruse through the links I provide on their own initiative, I will prioritize writing up the books and material that I cannot make available here first. Here is a list of the books I plan to review:

Wade, Allis: “Orientation (The School of Gifted Potentials)”

Streznewski, Marylou Kelly: “Gifted Grownups: The Mixed Blessings of Extraordinary Potential” 

Olenchak, F. Richard, Goerss, Jean, Beljan, Paul, Webb, James T., Webb, Nadia E., Amend, Edward R.: “Misdiagnosis and Dual Diagnoses of Gifted Children and Adults: ADHD, Bipolar, OCD, Asperger’s, Depression, and Other Disorders”

Fonseca, Christine: “Emotional Intensity in Gifted Students: Helping Kids Cope With Explosive Feelings”

Greene, Ross W.: “Lost at School”

Kermadec, Monique de: “L’adulte surdoué. Apprendre à faire simple quand on est compliqué”

All but one of these books are available in English, and some of them have doubtless been devoured by my readers alredy, so I have made the decision to start out by reviewing the only French book on the list. This will require some translating in order to present it to you, so it might take a while.

Leave a Reply

