Everytime a child says ‘I don’t believe in fairies’ there is a little fairy somewhere that falls down dead.

Everytime a child says ‘I don’t believe in fairies’ there is a little fairy somewhere that falls down dead.

The heading is from “Peter Pan“, by J.M. Barrie, and it entices children (and some adults) all over Neverland and London to respond by chanting: “I do, I do, I do believe in fairies!” It is my belief that many people out there wish to join Peter Pan and his Neverland existence by chanting: “I don’t, I don’t, I don’t believe in ADHD!“, believing this will cause the ADHD to fall dead on its face.

The last couple of days have been emotionally draining for me due to reading several posts about ADHD that are just so demeaning!

First, there’s this old “gem” from Psychology Today (who really ought to know better than to publish something so ill-researched): http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/suffer-the-children/201203/why-french-kids-dont-have-adhd The only redeeming factor, as far as I can see, is the wealth of commentators that know better and tell her why.

This post at least tries to balance out the information, but it is deeply disturbing to read a lot of the comments: http://thechart.blogs.cnn.com/2013/11/22/adhd-diagnoses-rise-to-11-of-kids/?hpt=hp_bn13

But what really tipped the scale for me today was reading this: http://www.theonion.com/articles/more-us-children-being-diagnosed-with-youthful-ten,248/. It is supposed to be funny, either ironic or sarcastic, but to me it’s just another example of “I’m so cool, I can poke fun of all the retards” and it legitimizes all those people claiming that ADHD is not real, that all children have ADHD, and that if we just allow children to be children (or indeed, the exact opposite: if only we enforce discipline), the problems will magically disappear.

Although temporarily discouraged, I know I will rise again, and take up my own chant:

I do, I do, I do believe in fairness!

Leave a Reply

